Board of Trustees

Board members are elected for terms of three years. Service is limited to two consecutive three-year terms. Our current board of Directors is:

Executive Committee

Laura Stille, President
King Mueller, Vice President
Marghretta Shisko, Secretary
Jason Hill, Treasurer


Board Members

Luke Allen

Lamar Baehr

Ben Boland

Christi Brown

Michael Brown

Greg Colbath

Michele Cook

Laurence Fritz

Quincy Halliday

Amy Holbein

Stewart Johnson, Jr.

Jim Little

Lucy Lynch

Hootie Solesbee

Libbo Wise




Board Responsibilities:

  • Embrace the conservancy’s mission.
  • Attend and participate in board meetings.
  • Actively serve on at least one committee.
  • Offer any special talents or skills you might have.
  • Help raise money.
  • Help promote the conservancy’s purpose and agenda in a positive way to the community.
  • Become familiar with the conservancy’s goals, history, current agenda.
  • Make a financial donation to the conservancy.
  • Maintain confidentiality of matters discussed in meetings and especially potential land projects.
  • Help recruit new members.
  • Read minutes, mailings, and reports.

Why conserve land?

Why conserve land?

Our natural places and working lands are part of our character as a community. Through thoughtful conservation, we can keep Spartanburg wild while continuing to grow and thrive. Learn more about how SPACE works.

Take a hike, Spartanburg!

Take a hike, Spartanburg!

Cottonwood Trail

The Edwin M. Griffin Preserve (home of the beloved Cottonwood Trail) covers 110-acres around a 1.5 mile stretch of Lawson’s Fork Creek and several feeder streams. With over 5 miles of natural surface nature trails and Wildflower Way (1 mile of newly constructed ADA-accessible paved trail).

Glendale Shoals Preserve

Located at the old Glendale Mill on Lawson’s Fork Creek.

Upper Chinquapin Greenway

Located on the headwaters of the Chinquapin Creek across from the Milliken Research Center.

Error Message